How to become an electrician in Colorado
6Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the electrical license tiers in Colorado, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board (dpo.colorado.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State-licensed
Colorado licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Colorado publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Verified from the boardColorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board ↗
apprentice (registration)
apprentice · Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Register with the State Electrical Board before working; annual apprentice experience reporting; practical experience documented on Affidavit of Experience by supervising contractor.
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- — · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- AK (apprentice) — direction not stated; AR (apprentice) — direction not stated; ID (apprentice) — direction not stated; IA (apprentice) — direction not stated; MN (apprentice) — direction not stated; MT (apprentice) — direction not stated; NE (apprentice) — direction not stated; NH (apprentice) — direction not stated; ND (apprentice) — direction not stated; OK (apprentice) — direction not stated; SD (apprentice) — direction not stated; TX (apprentice) — direction not stated; UT (apprentice) — direction not stated; WY (apprentice) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardColorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board ↗
residential wireman
specialty · Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 4,000 hours of residential-only experience earned in no less than 2 years; exam.
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · 24 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (specialty) — direction not stated; AR (specialty) — direction not stated; ID (specialty) — direction not stated; IA (specialty) — direction not stated; MN (specialty) — direction not stated; MT (specialty) — direction not stated; NE (specialty) — direction not stated; NH (specialty) — direction not stated; ND (specialty) — direction not stated; OK (specialty) — direction not stated; SD (specialty) — direction not stated; TX (specialty) — direction not stated; UT (specialty) — direction not stated; WY (specialty) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardColorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board ↗
journeyman
journeyman · Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- 288
- Prerequisites
- 8,000 hours in no less than 4 years, 2,000 of which in commercial/industrial work; 288 classroom hours required for ALL applicants (no grandfathering); exam.
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · 24 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; IA (journeyman) — direction not stated; MN (journeyman) — direction not stated; MT (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; NH (journeyman) — direction not stated; ND (journeyman) — direction not stated; OK (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; TX (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated; WY (journeyman) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardColorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board ↗
master
master · Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board
- Experience
- 2,000 hrs (≈ 1 yr)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- One of: 10,000 hrs in ≥5 yrs; BSEE + 2,000 hrs (≥1 yr); electrical trade school/community college graduate + 8,000 hrs (≥4 yrs); or JW requirements + 2,000 hrs (≥1 yr) incl. planning/layout and supervision hours while holding a JW license; exam.
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · 24 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (master) — direction not stated; AR (master) — direction not stated; ID (master) — direction not stated; IA (master) — direction not stated; MN (master) — direction not stated; MT (master) — direction not stated; NE (master) — direction not stated; NH (master) — direction not stated; ND (master) — direction not stated; OK (master) — direction not stated; SD (master) — direction not stated; TX (master) — direction not stated; UT (master) — direction not stated; WY (master) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardColorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board ↗
electrical contractor (registration)
contractor · Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Must hold or employ a licensed master electrician as responsible individual (one company per master); Acknowledgment of Responsibility; workers' comp + unemployment compliance; expires Sept 30 every 3 years.
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- AK (contractor) — direction not stated; AR (contractor) — direction not stated; ID (contractor) — direction not stated; IA (contractor) — direction not stated; MN (contractor) — direction not stated; MT (contractor) — direction not stated; NE (contractor) — direction not stated; NH (contractor) — direction not stated; ND (contractor) — direction not stated; OK (contractor) — direction not stated; SD (contractor) — direction not stated; TX (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated; WY (contractor) — direction not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice (registration)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Colorado?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Denver (6) |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | Emily Griffith Technical CollegeFront Range Community CollegeRed Rocks Community College |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Colorado publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Colorado →
Electrical in Colorado's metros
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Colorado?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (Colorado DORA — Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Colorado?
8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 288 classroom hours, then the PSI exam.
What can I do for pay in Colorado with no license at all?
Colorado publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Colorado?
The statewide median is $62,230 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Denver — each has its own pay page.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.