TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an HVAC technician in Texas

Start as registered technician the week you are hired (registration only, no exam, $20); journeyman standing via registered apprenticeship; own the shop with the contractor Class B. EPA 608 is federal and separate — get it in weeks.

5Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified

Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration ↗

Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓

What are the hvac license tiers in Texas, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration (tdlr.texas.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses hvac here

State-licensed

Texas licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Texas →

  2. registered technician

    specialty · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Age 16+; work under a licensed ACR contractor; no exam
    Exam
    yes
    Fees
    $20 application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
  3. certified technician

    specialty · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    TX ACR Certified Technician exam (PSI); fee/hours on technician-certification page not fetched
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
  4. contractor Class B

    contractor · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    48 months practical experience under a licensed ACR contractor within past 72 months, OR certified technician 12 months + 36 months experience in past 48 months. Class B limited to cooling ≤25 tons / heating ≤1.5M BTU/h. Insurance $100k/$200k/$100k. Endorsements: Environmental Air, Commercial Refrigeration.
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    $115 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 8 CE hrs
  5. contractor Class A

    contractor · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Same experience as Class B; any size equipment. Insurance $300k/$600k/$300k. CE: 8 hrs incl. 1 hr TX law/rules.
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    $115 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 8 CE hrs

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

contractor Class B

Hours
not stated by the board / experience-based
Exam
PSI
Fees (application / exam)
$115 / —
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Texas?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourDallas–Fort Worth (10)Houston (13)Austin (9)San Antonio (7)
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)6–12 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsAlamo CollegesAustin Community CollegeCollin CollegeDallas College (Cedar Valley / North Lake)Houston Community CollegeLone Star CollegeSan Jacinto CollegeTarrant County College
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Texas →

HVAC in Texas's metros

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Texas?

Yes — the first state gate is the registered technician (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Air Conditioning and Refrigeration). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Texas?

Texas does not issue a state journeyman card for HVAC technicians; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).

What can I do for pay in Texas with no license at all?

Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an HVAC technician make in Texas?

The statewide median is $57,760 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Dallas–Fort Worth, Houston, Austin, San Antonio — each has its own pay page.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

Aug 28, 2026licensesTX/electrical,hvac

tier structureverified

Texas electrician (11 individual + 3 business types, collapsed to 4 tiers) and ACR (registered technician / certified technician / contractor) tier structures verified against TDLR pages fetched 2026-08-28. Hours and fees on 8 Texas rows remain research-seeded until the TDLR subpages are re-verified.

Permalink #2026-08-28-licenses-tx-tdlrBackfilled at launch