TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become a plumber in Wisconsin

Start as apprentice (registration) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the DSPS exam;

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the plumbing license tiers in Wisconsin, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Wisconsin DSPS — Plumbing (dsps.wi.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses plumbing here

State-licensed

Wisconsin licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Wisconsin publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Wisconsin →

  2. apprentice (registration)

    apprentice · Wisconsin DSPS — Plumbing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Plumbing ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Registered apprenticeship
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. journeyman plumber (restricted variants exist)

    journeyman · Wisconsin DSPS — Plumbing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Plumbing ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Approved apprenticeship + classroom hours (ServiceTitan); exam
    Exam
    DSPS
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · 24 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. master plumber

    master · Wisconsin DSPS — Plumbing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Plumbing ↗
    Experience
    6,000 hrs (≈ 3 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    3 yrs as journeyman (prior knowledge); exam; dwelling contractor certification to own a business
    Exam
    DSPS
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · 24 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registration)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Wisconsin DSPS — Plumbing →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Wisconsin?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Wisconsin publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Wisconsin →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Wisconsin?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (Wisconsin DSPS — Plumbing). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Wisconsin?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the DSPS exam.

What can I do for pay in Wisconsin with no license at all?

Wisconsin publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does a plumber make in Wisconsin?

Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in Wisconsin are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.