TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become a plumber in West Virginia

Start as plumber in training the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after — and the Prov exam; own the shop with the plumbing contractor.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked5Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the plumbing license tiers in West Virginia, and what does each require?

Rows checked against West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing (labor.wv.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses plumbing here

State-licensed

West Virginia licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Handyman exemption: jobs under $5,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in West Virginia →

  2. plumber in training

    specialty · West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Register
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. journeyman plumber

    journeyman · West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    No set experience — exam passage only (ServiceTitan); verify
    Exam
    Prov
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. master plumber

    master · West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Exam
    Exam
    Prov
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  5. plumbing contractor

    contractor · West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Master + Business & Law
    Exam
    Prov
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

journeyman plumber

Hours
not stated by the board / experience-based
Exam
Prov
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in West Virginia?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $5,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for West Virginia →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as a plumber in West Virginia?

Yes — the first state gate is the plumber in training (West Virginia Division of Labor — Plumber licensing). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in West Virginia?

— of documented experience, then the Prov exam.

What can I do for pay in West Virginia with no license at all?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $5,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does a plumber make in West Virginia?

Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in West Virginia are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.