TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become a plumber in Texas

Start as apprentice (registration) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam, $15); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the TSBPE exam;

6Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified

Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) ↗

Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓

What are the plumbing license tiers in Texas, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) (tsbpe.texas.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses plumbing here

State-licensed

Texas licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Texas →

  2. apprentice (registration)

    apprentice · Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE)

    Verified from the boardTexas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Age 16+; must register BEFORE hours count; direct supervision by TSBPE licensee
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    $15 application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
  3. tradesman plumber-limited

    specialty · Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE)

    Verified from the boardTexas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) ↗
    Experience
    4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
    Class hours
    24
    Prerequisites
    4,000 hrs as registered apprentice + 24-hr TSBPE-approved course; initial license $35, renewal $35
    Exam
    TSBPE
    Fees
    $35 application · $36 exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
  4. journeyman

    journeyman · Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE)

    Verified from the boardTexas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    48
    Prerequisites
    8,000 hrs + 48-hr TSBPE-approved course (waived with out-of-state journeyman/master); initial $40, renewal $40
    Exam
    TSBPE
    Fees
    $40 application · $40 exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
  5. master

    master · Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE)

    Verified from the boardTexas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    ≥2 yrs as journeyman (1 yr if completed approved apprenticeship); $25 exam processing + $128.50 exam; initial $75, renewal $75
    Exam
    TSBPE
    Fees
    $75 application · $128.5 exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
  6. responsible master plumber

    master · Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE)

    Verified from the boardTexas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Master plumber who takes responsibility for a plumbing company; insurance required (page not fetched)
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registration)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
$15 / —
Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Texas?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourDallas–Fort Worth (6)Houston (4)Austin (6)San Antonio (4)
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsAlamo CollegesAustin Community CollegeDallas College (Cedar Valley / North Lake)Houston Community College
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Texas →

Plumbing in Texas's metros

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Texas?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE)). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Texas?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 48 classroom hours, then the TSBPE exam.

What can I do for pay in Texas with no license at all?

Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does a plumber make in Texas?

The statewide median is $59,840 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Dallas–Fort Worth, Houston, Austin, San Antonio — each has its own pay page.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

Aug 28, 2026licensesTX/electrical,hvac

tier structureverified

Texas electrician (11 individual + 3 business types, collapsed to 4 tiers) and ACR (registered technician / certified technician / contractor) tier structures verified against TDLR pages fetched 2026-08-28. Hours and fees on 8 Texas rows remain research-seeded until the TDLR subpages are re-verified.

Permalink #2026-08-28-licenses-tx-tdlrBackfilled at launch