How to become a plumber in Ohio
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the plumbing license tiers in Ohio, and what does each require?
Rows checked against OCILB — commercial plumbing contractor; residential local (com.ohio.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses plumbing here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Ohio licenses plumber contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Ohio the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOCILB — commercial plumbing contractor; residential local ↗
residential registration (Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo etc.)
specialty · OCILB — commercial plumbing contractor; residential local
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Per municipality
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- — · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOCILB — commercial plumbing contractor; residential local ↗
commercial plumbing contractor (state)
contractor · OCILB — commercial plumbing contractor; residential local
- Experience
- 10,000 hrs (≈ 5 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 5 yrs; exam; insurance
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · 10 CE hrs
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
commercial plumbing contractor (state)
- Hours remaining (of 10,000)
- 10,000 ≈ 5.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Ohio?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Ohio →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Ohio?
Ohio licenses plumbing contractors at the state level (OCILB — commercial plumbing contractor; residential local); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Ohio?
Ohio's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in Ohio with no license at all?
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does a plumber make in Ohio?
Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in Ohio are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.