How to become a plumber in North Carolina
5Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the plumbing license tiers in North Carolina, and what does each require?
Rows checked against NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors (nclicensing.org) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses plumbing here
State-licensed
North Carolina licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
North Carolina publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Verified from the boardNC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors ↗
plumbing technician Class II
specialty · NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
- Experience
- 2,500 hrs (≈ 1.3 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 15 months (2,500 hrs)
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Verified from the boardNC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors ↗
plumbing technician Class I
specialty · NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
- Experience
- 3,000 hrs (≈ 1.5 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 18 months (3,000 hrs)
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Verified from the boardNC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors ↗
restricted limited plumbing contractor (RLP)
contractor · NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
- Experience
- 1,500 hrs (≈ 0.8 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 9 months (1,500 hrs)
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Verified from the boardNC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors ↗
plumbing contractor P-I (unlimited) / P-II (≤ single-family residential)
contractor · NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2 years (4,000 hrs) on-site full-time; up to 2,000 hrs academic
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
restricted limited plumbing contractor (RLP)
- Hours remaining (of 1,500)
- 1,500 ≈ 0.8 yrs full-time
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in North Carolina?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Charlotte (4)Raleigh (3) |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | Central Piedmont Community CollegeWake Technical Community College |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
North Carolina publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for North Carolina →
Plumbing in North Carolina's metros
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as a plumber in North Carolina?
Yes — the first state gate is the plumbing technician Class II (NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors). 2,500 hrs (≈ 1.3 yrs) of experience and an exam.
How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in North Carolina?
North Carolina does not issue a state journeyman card for plumbers; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).
What can I do for pay in North Carolina with no license at all?
North Carolina publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does a plumber make in North Carolina?
The statewide median is $57,080 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Charlotte, Raleigh — each has its own pay page.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.