TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become a plumber in Nevada

Nevada licenses plumber contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start. The state credential is the contractor C-1 (Plumbing & Heating) (8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of experience + exam).

3Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified

Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local ↗

Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓

What are the plumbing license tiers in Nevada, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local (nvcontractorsboard.com) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses plumbing here

State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen

Nevada licenses plumber contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Nevada →

  2. Journeyman / master: your city or county

    In Nevada the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.

    Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.

  3. journeyman plumber (LOCAL — e.g., Clark County / Southern Nevada)

    journeyman · Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local

    Verified from the boardNevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    ServiceTitan: 4+ yrs (8,000 hrs) → journeyman; 1+ yr (2,000 hrs) journeyman → master — verify against Clark County
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    — · CE not stated
    Reciprocity
    AZ (journeyman) — direction not stated; CA (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated
  4. contractor C-1 (Plumbing & Heating)

    contractor · Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local

    Verified from the boardNevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    4 years within 15; CMS + trade exam; bond
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · no CE
    Reciprocity
    AZ (contractor) — direction not stated; CA (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

journeyman plumber (LOCAL — e.g., Clark County / Southern Nevada)

Hours remaining (of 8,000)
8,000 ≈ 4.0 yrs full-time
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Nevada?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourLas Vegas (3)
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsCollege of Southern Nevada
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Nevada →

Plumbing in Nevada's metros

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Nevada?

Nevada licenses plumbing contractors at the state level (Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor); Nevada State Board of Plumbing Examiners does not exist — journeyman/master cards are local); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Nevada?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the state exam.

What can I do for pay in Nevada with no license at all?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does a plumber make in Nevada?

The statewide median is $61,610 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Las Vegas — each has its own pay page.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.