TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become a plumber in Louisiana

Louisiana licenses plumber contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the plumbing license tiers in Louisiana, and what does each require?

Rows checked against State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000 (spbla.com) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses plumbing here

State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen

Louisiana licenses plumber contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Handyman exemption: jobs under $10,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Louisiana →

  2. Journeyman / master: your city or county

    In Louisiana the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.

    Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.

  3. apprentice (registration)

    apprentice · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedState Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000 ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Register
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. journeyman plumber

    journeyman · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedState Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000 ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    5-yr apprenticeship (ServiceTitan) — prior knowledge says 4 yrs/8,000 hrs; verify
    Exam
    state
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  5. master plumber

    master · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedState Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000 ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Journeyman experience; exam; master limited to jobs <$10,000 without LSLBC license
    Exam
    state
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registration)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000 →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Louisiana?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $10,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Louisiana →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Louisiana?

Louisiana licenses plumbing contractors at the state level (State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (journeyman/master); LSLBC for contracting >$10,000); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Louisiana?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the state exam.

What can I do for pay in Louisiana with no license at all?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $10,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does a plumber make in Louisiana?

Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in Louisiana are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.