TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become a plumber in Illinois

Start as apprentice (license) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the IDPH exam; own the shop with the plumbing contractor (registration).

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the plumbing license tiers in Illinois, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Illinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses) (dph.illinois.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses plumbing here

State-licensed

Illinois licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Illinois publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Illinois →

  2. apprentice (license)

    apprentice · Illinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedIllinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses) ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Sponsored by licensed plumber; age 16+
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. plumber (single tier — no journeyman/master)

    journeyman · Illinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedIllinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    144
    Prerequisites
    4+ yrs apprentice + 144 classroom hrs; state exam
    Exam
    IDPH
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. plumbing contractor (registration)

    contractor · Illinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedIllinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses) ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Licensed plumber + insurance
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (license)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Illinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses) →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Illinois?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Illinois publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Illinois →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Illinois?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (license) (Illinois Dept. of Public Health — Plumbing Program (City of Chicago also licenses)). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Illinois?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 144 classroom hours, then the IDPH exam.

What can I do for pay in Illinois with no license at all?

Illinois publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does a plumber make in Illinois?

Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in Illinois are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.