How to become a plumber in Connecticut
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the plumbing license tiers in Connecticut, and what does each require?
Rows checked against CT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board (portal.ct.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses plumbing here
State-licensed
Connecticut licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Connecticut publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedCT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board ↗
apprentice (registration)
apprentice · CT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Registered apprenticeship
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedCT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board ↗
journeyperson P-2 (unlimited) / P-6 etc. (limited)
journeyman · CT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- 720
- Prerequisites
- 2,000–8,000 hrs depending on license type via registered apprenticeship (ServiceTitan)
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedCT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board ↗
contractor P-1
contractor · CT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2 yrs as P-2
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice (registration)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Connecticut?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Connecticut publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Connecticut →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Connecticut?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (CT Dept. of Consumer Protection — Plumbing & Piping Work Examining Board). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Connecticut?
8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 720 classroom hours, then the PSI exam.
What can I do for pay in Connecticut with no license at all?
Connecticut publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does a plumber make in Connecticut?
Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in Connecticut are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.