How to become a plumber in California
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked2Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the plumbing license tiers in California, and what does each require?
Rows checked against California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) — C-36 Plumbing (cslb.ca.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses plumbing here
State-licensed
California licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedCalifornia Contractors State License Board (CSLB) — C-36 Plumbing ↗
contractor C-36
contractor · California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) — C-36 Plumbing
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 4 yrs journeyman-level (≥1 yr hands-on; up to 3 yrs credited education); exams; bond
- Exam
- CSLB
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · no CE
- Reciprocity
- AZ (contractor) — direction not stated; NV (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated; LA (contractor) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
contractor C-36
- Hours remaining (of 8,000)
- 8,000 ≈ 4.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- CSLB
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in California?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for California →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as a plumber in California?
Yes — the first state gate is the contractor C-36 (California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) — C-36 Plumbing). 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of experience and an exam.
How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in California?
California does not issue a state journeyman card for plumbers; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).
What can I do for pay in California with no license at all?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does a plumber make in California?
Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in California are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.