How to become a plumber in Arkansas
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the plumbing license tiers in Arkansas, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Arkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section (healthy.arkansas.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses plumbing here
State-licensed
Arkansas licenses plumbers at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section ↗
apprentice
apprentice · Arkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Register
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section ↗
journeyman
journeyman · Arkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 4 yrs as apprentice
- Exam
- state
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section ↗
master
master · Arkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section
- Experience
- 2,000 hrs (≈ 1 yr)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 1+ yr as journeyman (5 yrs total)
- Exam
- state
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Arkansas?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Arkansas →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as a plumber in Arkansas?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (Arkansas Dept. of Health — Plumbing & Natural Gas Section). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman plumber in Arkansas?
8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the state exam.
What can I do for pay in Arkansas with no license at all?
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does a plumber make in Arkansas?
Statewide BLS figures for plumbers in Arkansas are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.