How to become an HVAC technician in West Virginia
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in West Virginia, and what does each require?
Rows checked against West Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board) (labor.wv.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State-licensed
West Virginia licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
You need a contractor license for any job above $5,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board) ↗
HVAC technician in training
specialty · West Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board)
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Register
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- OH (specialty) — direction not stated; TN (specialty) — direction not stated; NC (specialty) — direction not stated; VA (specialty) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board) ↗
HVAC technician (residential / unlimited)
specialty · West Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board)
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2,000 hrs residential / 4,000 hrs unlimited (prior knowledge); exam
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- OH (specialty) — direction not stated; TN (specialty) — direction not stated; NC (specialty) — direction not stated; VA (specialty) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWest Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board) ↗
HVAC contractor (jobs ≥$5,000)
contractor · West Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Business & Law + trade exam; workers' comp
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- OH (contractor) — direction not stated; TN (contractor) — direction not stated; NC (contractor) — direction not stated; VA (contractor) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
HVAC contractor (jobs ≥$5,000)
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in West Virginia?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
You need a contractor license for any job above $5,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:notes; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for West Virginia →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in West Virginia?
Yes — the first state gate is the HVAC technician in training (West Virginia Division of Labor — HVAC Technician licensing (transitioning to Contractor Licensing Board)). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in West Virginia?
West Virginia does not issue a state journeyman card for HVAC technicians; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).
What can I do for pay in West Virginia with no license at all?
You need a contractor license for any job above $5,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in West Virginia?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in West Virginia are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.