How to become an HVAC technician in Utah
2Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Contractor License H100 HVAC Contractor ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the hvac license tiers in Utah, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Contractor License H100 HVAC Contractor (commerce.utah.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State-licensed
Utah licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Annual registration is required above $3,000 per job; there is no exam, but you must be on the state's list. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Verified from the boardUtah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Contractor License H100 HVAC Contractor ↗
contractor H100 (HVAC Contractor) — qualifier + business
contractor · Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Contractor License H100 HVAC Contractor
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- 25
- Prerequisites
- Effective 2026-04-20: pass Utah Business and Law exam + HVAC (H100) exam via Prov (no pre-approval; 3 attempts, 30 days apart); 2 years HVAC-specific experience verified by W-2 forms; 25-hour pre-licensure course (specialty) from ABC/UHBA/AGC; general liability $1M/$2M with DOPL as certificate holder; registered business entity; EIN; workers' comp or waiver. Renews Nov 30 of odd years; 6 CE hrs (3 live).
- Exam
- Prov (Utah Business & Law exam + Utah HVAC written exam; in person at Prov centers or online via Examroom AI)
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 6 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AZ (contractor) — direction not stated; CA (contractor) — direction not stated; NV (contractor) — direction not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
contractor H100 (HVAC Contractor) — qualifier + business
- Hours remaining (of 4,000)
- 4,000 ≈ 2.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- Prov (Utah Business & Law exam + Utah HVAC written exam; in person at Prov centers or online via Examroom AI)
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Utah?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Annual registration is required above $3,000 per job; there is no exam, but you must be on the state's list. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:notes; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Utah →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Utah?
Yes — the first state gate is the contractor H100 (HVAC Contractor) — qualifier + business (Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Contractor License H100 HVAC Contractor). 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs) of experience and an exam.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Utah?
Utah does not issue a state journeyman card for HVAC technicians; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).
What can I do for pay in Utah with no license at all?
Annual registration is required above $3,000 per job; there is no exam, but you must be on the state's list. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Utah?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Utah are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.