How to become an HVAC technician in Tennessee
2Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors (Dept. of Commerce & Insurance) ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the hvac license tiers in Tennessee, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors (Dept. of Commerce & Insurance) (tn.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Tennessee licenses HVAC technician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Handyman exemption: jobs under $25,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Tennessee the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗Board homepage read: exam vendor changing to Prov 2026-07-01 (verified); bond alternative (verified). $25,000 state threshold, 2-yr renewal, $250 application fee are prior knowledge (subpages 404). BELOW $25,000 there is no state HVAC license — local jurisdictions (Nashville/Davidson, Memphis/Shelby, Knoxville) issue their own mechanical/HVAC licenses. TN has no state HVAC technician license. Reciprocity (trade exam waiver): AL, AR, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, OH, WV per prior knowledge — verify.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Verified from the boardTennessee Board for Licensing Contractors (Dept. of Commerce & Insurance) ↗
contractor — CMC (Mechanical) or CMC-A (HVAC/Refrigeration) classification, projects ≥$25,000
contractor · Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors (Dept. of Commerce & Insurance)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Trade exam + Business & Law exam; CPA-reviewed financial statement OR Board-approved surety bond ≥50% of requested monetary limit; insurance
- Exam
- Prov (from 2026-07-01; PSI through Sept 2026)
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
contractor — CMC (Mechanical) or CMC-A (HVAC/Refrigeration) classification, projects ≥$25,000
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- Prov (from 2026-07-01; PSI through Sept 2026)
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Tennessee?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Nashville (7) |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | Nashville State Community CollegeTennessee College of Applied Technology |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $25,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Tennessee →
HVAC in Tennessee's metros
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Tennessee?
Tennessee licenses hvac contractors at the state level (Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors (Dept. of Commerce & Insurance)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Tennessee?
Tennessee's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in Tennessee with no license at all?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $25,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Tennessee?
The statewide median is $55,490 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Nashville — each has its own pay page.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.