How to become an HVAC technician in South Carolina
3Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor) ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the hvac license tiers in South Carolina, and what does each require?
Rows checked against SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor) (llr.sc.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
South Carolina licenses HVAC technician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
You need a contractor license for any job above $5,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In South Carolina the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗Residential specialty tier (1-yr experience, PSI, $100 application, $220 renewal) verified from RBC licensure page. Renewal period not stated on page — 2 yrs from CLB fees page pattern (biennial, July 31, 2026 cycle). $5,000 threshold: SC Code 40-59 requires residential specialty license for jobs >$5,000 (was $200 before 2016 reform) — prior knowledge, verify; mechanical contractor license (CLB) required for commercial jobs >$5,000. Mechanical contractor page 404. Reciprocity: NC, GA, others by exam waiver — verify.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Verified from the boardSC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor) ↗
residential specialty contractor — HVAC (RBH)
contractor · SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor)
- Experience
- 2,000 hrs (≈ 1 yr)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 1 year verifiable experience under a licensed individual in the trade; PSI exam; renewal $220. Residential business certificate of authorization required if licensee owns <51% of firm
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- $100 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
- Verified from the boardSC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor) ↗
mechanical contractor — Air Conditioning / Heating / Refrigeration (commercial; groups by dollar limit)
contractor · SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor)
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2 years experience within past 5 (ServiceTitan); technical + business exams; financial statement for license group limit
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
residential specialty contractor — HVAC (RBH)
- Hours remaining (of 2,000)
- 2,000 ≈ 1.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- $100 / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in South Carolina?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
You need a contractor license for any job above $5,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:notes; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for South Carolina →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in South Carolina?
South Carolina licenses hvac contractors at the state level (SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (residential specialty) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in South Carolina?
South Carolina's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in South Carolina with no license at all?
You need a contractor license for any job above $5,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in South Carolina?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in South Carolina are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.