TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an HVAC technician in Oregon

Start as apprentice (registered with boli) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman standing via registered apprenticeship; own the shop with the CCB contractor (residential/commercial specialty). EPA 608 is federal and separate — get it in weeks.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the hvac license tiers in Oregon, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting (oregon.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses hvac here

State-licensed

Oregon licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Oregon publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Oregon →

  2. apprentice (registered with BOLI)

    apprentice · Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Must be registered apprentice (ServiceTitan)
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    — · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. limited energy / limited maintenance electrician HVAC-R (BCD)

    specialty · Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting ↗
    Experience
    4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Apprenticeship or 2 yrs; exam — HVAC techs in OR need an electrical-type license for controls
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 3 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. CCB contractor (residential/commercial specialty)

    contractor · Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    16
    Prerequisites
    16-hr pre-license course + exam; bond; insurance
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registered with BOLI)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Oregon?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)6–12 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Oregon publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Oregon →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Oregon?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registered with BOLI) (Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD) — Limited Maintenance Electrician HVAC/R (LME) etc.; Construction Contractors Board (CCB) for contracting). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Oregon?

Oregon does not issue a state journeyman card for HVAC technicians; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).

What can I do for pay in Oregon with no license at all?

Oregon publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an HVAC technician make in Oregon?

Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Oregon are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.