How to become an HVAC technician in Ohio
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in Ohio, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local (com.ohio.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Ohio licenses HVAC technician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
- Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local ↗
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Ohio the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗State licenses commercial contractors only; residential is municipal. No journeyman tier anywhere in OH state law.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOhio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local ↗
residential HVAC (local registration — Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Toledo etc.)
specialty · Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Per municipality
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- — · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOhio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local ↗
commercial HVAC contractor (state)
contractor · Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local
- Experience
- 10,000 hrs (≈ 5 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 5 yrs experience (or engineer 3 yrs); exam; insurance
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · 10 CE hrs
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
commercial HVAC contractor (state)
- Hours remaining (of 10,000)
- 10,000 ≈ 5.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Ohio?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Ohio →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Ohio?
Ohio licenses hvac contractors at the state level (Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) — commercial HVAC contractor; residential local); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Ohio?
Ohio's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in Ohio with no license at all?
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Ohio?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Ohio are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.