TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an HVAC technician in New Mexico

Start as apprentice (registration) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the PSI exam; own the shop with the contractor MM-98 etc. (qualifying party). EPA 608 is federal and separate — get it in weeks.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the hvac license tiers in New Mexico, and what does each require?

Rows checked against NM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID) (rld.nm.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses hvac here

State-licensed

New Mexico licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    New Mexico publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in New Mexico →

  2. apprentice (registration)

    apprentice · NM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedNM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID) ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Register
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    — · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. journeyman MM-1 / MM-2 / MM-98 (mechanical/HVAC)

    journeyman · NM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedNM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    4 yrs (8,000 hrs) — varies by classification; exam
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 3 years · 16 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. contractor MM-98 etc. (qualifying party)

    contractor · NM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedNM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    4 yrs (2 as journeyman); Business & Law + trade exam; bond
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 3 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registration)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
NM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID) →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in New Mexico?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)6–12 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

New Mexico publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for New Mexico →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in New Mexico?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (NM Regulation & Licensing Dept. — Construction Industries Division (CID)). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in New Mexico?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the PSI exam.

What can I do for pay in New Mexico with no license at all?

New Mexico publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an HVAC technician make in New Mexico?

Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in New Mexico are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.