How to become an HVAC technician in Nevada
2Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the hvac license tiers in Nevada, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) (nvcontractorsboard.com) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Nevada licenses HVAC technician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Nevada the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗4-yr/15-yr experience, PSI, exam structure, endorsement rule (actively licensed in endorsing state ≥4 yrs) verified from board pages. $1,000 threshold verified from NRS 624.031(6) (repair/maintenance, labor+materials, with exceptions). Reciprocity states from prior knowledge (State Equivalency Chart not fetched): AZ, CA, UT (and LA for some). Fees ($300 application, $600 initial license, 2-yr renewal) prior knowledge — fees page 404. No individual HVAC technician license in NV.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Verified from the boardNevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) ↗
contractor C-21 (Refrigeration & Air Conditioning) / C-1 Plumbing & Heating subclasses
contractor · Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB)
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- ≥4 full years experience as journeyman/supervisor/contractor in the classification within past 15 years; CMS (business & law, open book) + trade exam (closed book); financial statement; bond
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · no CE
- Reciprocity
- AZ (contractor) — direction not stated; CA (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated; LA (contractor) — direction not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
contractor C-21 (Refrigeration & Air Conditioning) / C-1 Plumbing & Heating subclasses
- Hours remaining (of 8,000)
- 8,000 ≈ 4.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Nevada?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Las Vegas (7) |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | College of Southern Nevada |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Nevada →
HVAC in Nevada's metros
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Nevada?
Nevada licenses hvac contractors at the state level (Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Nevada?
Nevada's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in Nevada with no license at all?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Nevada?
The statewide median is $60,510 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Las Vegas — each has its own pay page.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.