How to become an HVAC technician in Maryland
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked5Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in Maryland, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL) (labor.maryland.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State-licensed
Maryland licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Maryland publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL) ↗
apprentice (registration)
apprentice · Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL)
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Register
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL) ↗
journeyman (restricted / unrestricted)
journeyman · Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL)
- Experience
- 3,000 hrs (≈ 1.5 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 3 yrs (1,875 hrs/yr) as apprentice; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL) ↗
master (restricted / unrestricted)
master · Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 3 yrs as journeyman; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL) ↗
contractor
contractor · Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Master + insurance
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice (registration)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Maryland?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Maryland publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Maryland →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Maryland?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors (Dept. of Labor, O&PL)). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Maryland?
3,000 hrs (≈ 1.5 yrs) of documented experience, then the PSI exam.
What can I do for pay in Maryland with no license at all?
Maryland publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Maryland?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Maryland are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.