How to become an HVAC technician in Louisiana
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked2Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in Louisiana, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) — Mechanical Work (HVAC) — jobs >$10,000 (lslbc.louisiana.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Louisiana licenses HVAC technician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Handyman exemption: jobs under $10,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Louisiana the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗$10,000 threshold is the mechanical/commercial contractor line, not a general handyman exemption; residential-improvement line is $7,500 (prior knowledge). No state HVAC tech license; some parishes/cities (e.g., New Orleans) license mechanics. Reciprocity list prior knowledge — verify.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedLouisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) — Mechanical Work (HVAC) — jobs >$10,000 ↗
mechanical contractor (commercial) / residential HVAC specialty
contractor · Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) — Mechanical Work (HVAC) — jobs >$10,000
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Business & Law + trade exam; financial statement; commercial jobs >$10,000 (residential >$7,500) require license
- Exam
- LSLBC (state-administered)
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- AL (contractor) — direction not stated; AR (contractor) — direction not stated; MS (contractor) — direction not stated; TN (contractor) — direction not stated; TX (contractor) — direction not stated; GA (contractor) — direction not stated; OH (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated; NC (contractor) — direction not stated; SC (contractor) — direction not stated; CA (contractor) — direction not stated; NV (contractor) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
mechanical contractor (commercial) / residential HVAC specialty
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- LSLBC (state-administered)
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Louisiana?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $10,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:notes; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Louisiana →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Louisiana?
Louisiana licenses hvac contractors at the state level (Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) — Mechanical Work (HVAC) — jobs >$10,000); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Louisiana?
Louisiana's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in Louisiana with no license at all?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $10,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Louisiana?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Louisiana are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.