How to become an HVAC technician in District of Columbia
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in District of Columbia, and what does each require?
Rows checked against DC DLCP (formerly DCRA) — Board of Industrial Trades (dlcp.dc.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State-licensed
District of Columbia licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
District of Columbia publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDC DLCP (formerly DCRA) — Board of Industrial Trades ↗
refrigeration & AC mechanic Class A/B
specialty · DC DLCP (formerly DCRA) — Board of Industrial Trades
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Experience; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDC DLCP (formerly DCRA) — Board of Industrial Trades ↗
master refrigeration & AC mechanic / HVAC contractor
master · DC DLCP (formerly DCRA) — Board of Industrial Trades
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Journeyman-level experience; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
master refrigeration & AC mechanic / HVAC contractor
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in District of Columbia?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
District of Columbia publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for District of Columbia →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in District of Columbia?
Yes — the first state gate is the refrigeration & AC mechanic Class A/B (DC DLCP (formerly DCRA) — Board of Industrial Trades). — of experience and an exam.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia does not issue a state journeyman card for HVAC technicians; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).
What can I do for pay in District of Columbia with no license at all?
District of Columbia publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in District of Columbia?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in District of Columbia are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.