How to become an HVAC technician in Delaware
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in Delaware, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Delaware Board of Plumbing, HVACR Examiners (Division of Professional Regulation) (dpr.delaware.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State-licensed
Delaware licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Delaware publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDelaware Board of Plumbing, HVACR Examiners (Division of Professional Regulation) ↗
HVACR journeyperson
journeyman · Delaware Board of Plumbing, HVACR Examiners (Division of Professional Regulation)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Apprenticeship; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDelaware Board of Plumbing, HVACR Examiners (Division of Professional Regulation) ↗
HVACR master (restricted / unrestricted)
master · Delaware Board of Plumbing, HVACR Examiners (Division of Professional Regulation)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Journeyperson experience; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
HVACR journeyperson
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Delaware?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Delaware publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Delaware →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Delaware?
Yes — the first state gate is the HVACR journeyperson (Delaware Board of Plumbing, HVACR Examiners (Division of Professional Regulation)). — of experience and an exam.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Delaware?
— of documented experience, then the PSI exam.
What can I do for pay in Delaware with no license at all?
Delaware publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Delaware?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Delaware are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.