How to become an HVAC technician in Arkansas
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the hvac license tiers in Arkansas, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — HVACR Licensing Board (labor.arkansas.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses hvac here
State-licensed
Arkansas licenses HVAC technicians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — HVACR Licensing Board ↗
registered technician
specialty · Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — HVACR Licensing Board
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Registration only
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — HVACR Licensing Board ↗
HVACR contractor Class A/B/C/D/E
contractor · Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — HVACR Licensing Board
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2 yrs experience OR approved training program + 6 months field (ServiceTitan); exam
- Exam
- state
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
HVACR contractor Class A/B/C/D/E
- Hours remaining (of 4,000)
- 4,000 ≈ 2.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- state
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Arkansas?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 6–12 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Arkansas →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an HVAC technician in Arkansas?
Yes — the first state gate is the registered technician (Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — HVACR Licensing Board). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman HVAC technician in Arkansas?
Arkansas does not issue a state journeyman card for HVAC technicians; journeyman standing comes from completing a registered apprenticeship (typically 4–5 years).
What can I do for pay in Arkansas with no license at all?
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an HVAC technician make in Arkansas?
Statewide BLS figures for HVAC technicians in Arkansas are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.