TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Wyoming

Start as apprentice (registration) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the state exam; own the shop with the electrical contractor / low voltage.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked5Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the electrical license tiers in Wyoming, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board (wsfm.wyo.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State-licensed

Wyoming licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Wyoming publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Wyoming →

  2. apprentice (registration)

    apprentice · Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Register
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
    Reciprocity
    TX (apprentice) — direction not stated; CO (apprentice) — direction not stated; UT (apprentice) — direction not stated; ID (apprentice) — direction not stated; MT (apprentice) — direction not stated; ND (apprentice) — direction not stated; SD (apprentice) — direction not stated; NE (apprentice) — direction not stated; MN (apprentice) — direction not stated; AK (apprentice) — direction not stated; AR (apprentice) — direction not stated; IA (apprentice) — direction not stated; NH (apprentice) — direction not stated; OK (apprentice) — direction not stated; OR (apprentice) — direction not stated; WA (apprentice) — direction not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. journeyman

    journeyman · Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    576
    Prerequisites
    4 yrs (8,000 hrs) + 576 classroom (or 8,000 hrs + exam); exam
    Exam
    state
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 3 years · 16 CE hrs
    Reciprocity
    TX (journeyman) — direction not stated; CO (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated; ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; MT (journeyman) — direction not stated; ND (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; MN (journeyman) — direction not stated; AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; IA (journeyman) — direction not stated; NH (journeyman) — direction not stated; OK (journeyman) — direction not stated; OR (journeyman) — direction not stated; WA (journeyman) — direction not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. master

    master · Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board ↗
    Experience
    4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    2 yrs as journeyman; exam
    Exam
    state
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 3 years · 16 CE hrs
    Reciprocity
    TX (master) — direction not stated; CO (master) — direction not stated; UT (master) — direction not stated; ID (master) — direction not stated; MT (master) — direction not stated; ND (master) — direction not stated; SD (master) — direction not stated; NE (master) — direction not stated; MN (master) — direction not stated; AK (master) — direction not stated; AR (master) — direction not stated; IA (master) — direction not stated; NH (master) — direction not stated; OK (master) — direction not stated; OR (master) — direction not stated; WA (master) — direction not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  5. electrical contractor / low voltage

    contractor · Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Employ a master; insurance
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every 3 years · CE not stated
    Reciprocity
    TX (contractor) — direction not stated; CO (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated; ID (contractor) — direction not stated; MT (contractor) — direction not stated; ND (contractor) — direction not stated; SD (contractor) — direction not stated; NE (contractor) — direction not stated; MN (contractor) — direction not stated; AK (contractor) — direction not stated; AR (contractor) — direction not stated; IA (contractor) — direction not stated; NH (contractor) — direction not stated; OK (contractor) — direction not stated; OR (contractor) — direction not stated; WA (contractor) — direction not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registration)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Wyoming?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Wyoming publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Wyoming →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Wyoming?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (Wyoming Dept. of Fire Prevention & Electrical Safety — Electrical Board). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Wyoming?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 576 classroom hours, then the state exam.

What can I do for pay in Wyoming with no license at all?

Wyoming publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Wyoming?

Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Wyoming are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.