TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Wisconsin

Start as registered electrician / apprentice the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the DSPS exam; own the shop with the electrical contractor.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked5Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the electrical license tiers in Wisconsin, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration) (dsps.wi.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State-licensed

Wisconsin licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Wisconsin publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Wisconsin →

  2. registered electrician / apprentice

    apprentice · Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration) ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Register
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. journeyman electrician

    journeyman · Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    576
    Prerequisites
    5-yr apprenticeship (WI apprenticeship is 5 yrs/8,000 hrs + 576 school) — prior knowledge; exam
    Exam
    DSPS
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · 24 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. master electrician

    master · Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration) ↗
    Experience
    2,000 hrs (≈ 1 yr)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    1 yr as journeyman; exam
    Exam
    DSPS
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · 24 CE hrs

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  5. electrical contractor

    contractor · Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration) ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Employ a master; insurance
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every 4 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

registered electrician / apprentice

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration) →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Wisconsin?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Wisconsin publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Wisconsin →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Wisconsin?

Yes — the first state gate is the registered electrician / apprentice (Wisconsin DSPS — Electrical (state license; some municipalities add local registration)). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Wisconsin?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 576 classroom hours, then the DSPS exam.

What can I do for pay in Wisconsin with no license at all?

Wisconsin publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Wisconsin?

Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Wisconsin are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.