How to become an electrician in Washington
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked5Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the electrical license tiers in Washington, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Washington L&I — Electrical Program (lni.wa.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State-licensed
Washington licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Washington publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWashington L&I — Electrical Program ↗
trainee (registration)
apprentice · Washington L&I — Electrical Program
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- 48
- Prerequisites
- Register; 48 hrs classroom per renewal
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- ID (apprentice) — direction not stated; OR (apprentice) — direction not stated; MT (apprentice) — direction not stated; WY (apprentice) — direction not stated; UT (apprentice) — direction not stated; AK (apprentice) — direction not stated; AR (apprentice) — direction not stated; CO (apprentice) — direction not stated; NM (apprentice) — direction not stated; SD (apprentice) — direction not stated; NE (apprentice) — direction not stated; ND (apprentice) — direction not stated; MN (apprentice) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWashington L&I — Electrical Program ↗
specialty (02 residential 4,000 hrs; 06A HVAC; 03 pump; etc.)
specialty · Washington L&I — Electrical Program
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Varies by specialty
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · 24 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- ID (specialty) — direction not stated; OR (specialty) — direction not stated; MT (specialty) — direction not stated; WY (specialty) — direction not stated; UT (specialty) — direction not stated; AK (specialty) — direction not stated; AR (specialty) — direction not stated; CO (specialty) — direction not stated; NM (specialty) — direction not stated; SD (specialty) — direction not stated; NE (specialty) — direction not stated; ND (specialty) — direction not stated; MN (specialty) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWashington L&I — Electrical Program ↗
journey level 01 (general)
journeyman · Washington L&I — Electrical Program
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 8,000 hrs (4,000 commercial/industrial) or approved apprenticeship; exam
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · 24 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; OR (journeyman) — direction not stated; MT (journeyman) — direction not stated; WY (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated; AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; CO (journeyman) — direction not stated; NM (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; ND (journeyman) — direction not stated; MN (journeyman) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedWashington L&I — Electrical Program ↗
master journey / master specialty + electrical contractor (administrator)
journeyman · Washington L&I — Electrical Program
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 4 yrs as journey; exam; contractor needs $4,000 bond + administrator
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 3 years · 24 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; OR (journeyman) — direction not stated; MT (journeyman) — direction not stated; WY (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated; AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; CO (journeyman) — direction not stated; NM (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; ND (journeyman) — direction not stated; MN (journeyman) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
trainee (registration)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Washington?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Washington publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Washington →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Washington?
Yes — the first state gate is the trainee (registration) (Washington L&I — Electrical Program). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Washington?
8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the PSI exam.
What can I do for pay in Washington with no license at all?
Washington publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Washington?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Washington are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.