How to become an electrician in Utah
6Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the electrical license tiers in Utah, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board (commerce.utah.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State-licensed
Utah licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Utah publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Verified from the boardUtah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board ↗
apprentice electrician (license)
apprentice · Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- No exam; Verification of Supervision form completed and signed by employer; $110 application (all electrician classifications).
- Exam
- yes
- Fees
- $110 application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- AK (apprentice) — direction not stated; AR (apprentice) — direction not stated; CO (apprentice) — direction not stated; ID (apprentice) — direction not stated; IA (apprentice) — direction not stated; MN (apprentice) — direction not stated; MT (apprentice) — direction not stated; NE (apprentice) — direction not stated; NH (apprentice) — direction not stated; ND (apprentice) — direction not stated; OK (apprentice) — direction not stated; SD (apprentice) — direction not stated; TX (apprentice) — direction not stated; WY (apprentice) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardUtah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board ↗
residential journeyman
journeyman · Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- 288
- Prerequisites
- 2-year (288 classroom hrs) apprenticeship program + 4,000 hrs as licensed apprentice under a journeyman/master (exam-eligibility page: 3,000 hrs) OR 8,000 hrs; pass Utah Residential Journeyman written exam + Residential Practical exam (4 modules).
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- $110 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 16 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; CO (journeyman) — direction not stated; ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; IA (journeyman) — direction not stated; MN (journeyman) — direction not stated; MT (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; NH (journeyman) — direction not stated; ND (journeyman) — direction not stated; OK (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; TX (journeyman) — direction not stated; WY (journeyman) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardUtah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board ↗
journeyman
journeyman · Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- 576
- Prerequisites
- 4-year (576 classroom hrs) apprenticeship program + 8,000 hrs licensed experience (exam-eligibility page: 6,000 hrs) OR 16,000 hrs; pass Utah Journeyman written exam + Practical exam (6 modules).
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- $110 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 16 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; CO (journeyman) — direction not stated; ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; IA (journeyman) — direction not stated; MN (journeyman) — direction not stated; MT (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; NH (journeyman) — direction not stated; ND (journeyman) — direction not stated; OK (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; TX (journeyman) — direction not stated; WY (journeyman) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardUtah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board ↗
residential master
master · Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 4,000 hrs as licensed residential journeyman, OR BS/MS electrical engineering (EAC/ABET) + 2,000 hrs as licensed apprentice; pass Master Law & Rule exam (+ Residential Practical unless passed as RJ).
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- $110 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 16 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (master) — direction not stated; AR (master) — direction not stated; CO (master) — direction not stated; ID (master) — direction not stated; IA (master) — direction not stated; MN (master) — direction not stated; MT (master) — direction not stated; NE (master) — direction not stated; NH (master) — direction not stated; ND (master) — direction not stated; OK (master) — direction not stated; SD (master) — direction not stated; TX (master) — direction not stated; WY (master) — direction not stated
- Verified from the boardUtah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board ↗
master
master · Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 8,000 hrs as licensed journeyman, OR BS/MS EE (EAC/ABET) + 2,000 hrs as licensed apprentice, OR AAS from electrical trade school + 4,000 hrs as licensed journeyman; pass Master Law & Rule exam (+ Practical unless passed as JE).
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- $110 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 16 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- AK (master) — direction not stated; AR (master) — direction not stated; CO (master) — direction not stated; ID (master) — direction not stated; IA (master) — direction not stated; MN (master) — direction not stated; MT (master) — direction not stated; NE (master) — direction not stated; NH (master) — direction not stated; ND (master) — direction not stated; OK (master) — direction not stated; SD (master) — direction not stated; TX (master) — direction not stated; WY (master) — direction not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice electrician (license)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- yes
- Fees (application / exam)
- $110 / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Utah?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Utah publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Utah →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Utah?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice electrician (license) (Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) — Electrician Licensing Board). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Utah?
4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs) of documented experience plus 288 classroom hours, then the Prov exam.
What can I do for pay in Utah with no license at all?
Utah publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Utah?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Utah are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.