TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Texas

Start as apprentice the week you are hired (registration only, no exam, $20); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the PSI exam; own the shop with the electrical contractor (business).

6Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified

Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians ↗

Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓

What are the electrical license tiers in Texas, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians (tdlr.texas.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State-licensed

Texas licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Texas →

  2. apprentice

    apprentice · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    No experience or exam; renewal $20; CE 4 hrs (apprentices are on the CE list)
    Exam
    yes
    Fees
    $20 application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs
    Reciprocity
    AL (apprentice) — direction not stated; AK (apprentice) — direction not stated; AR (apprentice) — direction not stated; IA (apprentice) — direction not stated; ID (apprentice) — direction not stated; LA (apprentice) — direction not stated; NE (apprentice) — direction not stated; NC (apprentice) — direction not stated; NM (apprentice) — direction not stated; OH (apprentice) — direction not stated; OK (apprentice) — direction not stated; SD (apprentice) — direction not stated; WY (apprentice) — direction not stated
  3. residential wireman

    specialty · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians ↗
    Experience
    4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    4,000 OJT hours under a master (page 404 this session — hours from prior knowledge; re-verify)
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs
    Reciprocity
    AL (specialty) — direction not stated; AK (specialty) — direction not stated; AR (specialty) — direction not stated; IA (specialty) — direction not stated; ID (specialty) — direction not stated; LA (specialty) — direction not stated; NE (specialty) — direction not stated; NC (specialty) — direction not stated; NM (specialty) — direction not stated; OH (specialty) — direction not stated; OK (specialty) — direction not stated; SD (specialty) — direction not stated; WY (specialty) — direction not stated
  4. journeyman

    journeyman · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    8,000 OJT hours under a master electrician; may sit exam at 7,000 hrs. Exam is 2 parts (knowledge + calculations) since 2025-03-11.
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    $30 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs
    Reciprocity
    AL (journeyman) — direction not stated; AK (journeyman) — direction not stated; AR (journeyman) — direction not stated; IA (journeyman) — direction not stated; ID (journeyman) — direction not stated; LA (journeyman) — direction not stated; NE (journeyman) — direction not stated; NC (journeyman) — direction not stated; NM (journeyman) — direction not stated; OH (journeyman) — direction not stated; OK (journeyman) — direction not stated; SD (journeyman) — direction not stated; WY (journeyman) — direction not stated
  5. master

    master · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians ↗
    Experience
    12,000 hrs (≈ 6 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    12,000 OJT hours AND held journeyman license ≥2 years
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    $45 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · 4 CE hrs
    Reciprocity
    AL (master) — direction not stated; AK (master) — direction not stated; AR (master) — direction not stated; IA (master) — direction not stated; ID (master) — direction not stated; LA (master) — direction not stated; NE (master) — direction not stated; NC (master) — direction not stated; NM (master) — direction not stated; OH (master) — direction not stated; OK (master) — direction not stated; SD (master) — direction not stated; WY (master) — direction not stated
  6. electrical contractor (business)

    contractor · Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians

    Verified from the boardTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Must employ a master electrician; insurance required; contractors exempt from CE (page 404 this session)
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every year · no CE
    Reciprocity
    AL (contractor) — direction not stated; AK (contractor) — direction not stated; AR (contractor) — direction not stated; IA (contractor) — direction not stated; ID (contractor) — direction not stated; LA (contractor) — direction not stated; NE (contractor) — direction not stated; NC (contractor) — direction not stated; NM (contractor) — direction not stated; OH (contractor) — direction not stated; OK (contractor) — direction not stated; SD (contractor) — direction not stated; WY (contractor) — direction not stated

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
yes
Fees (application / exam)
$20 / —
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Texas?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourDallas–Fort Worth (10)Houston (5)Austin (10)San Antonio (5)
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsAlamo CollegesAustin Community CollegeCollin CollegeDallas College (Cedar Valley / North Lake)Houston Community CollegeLone Star CollegeSan Jacinto CollegeTarrant County College
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Texas →

Electrical in Texas's metros

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Texas?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) — Electricians). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Texas?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the PSI exam.

What can I do for pay in Texas with no license at all?

Texas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Texas?

The statewide median is $58,570 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Dallas–Fort Worth, Houston, Austin, San Antonio — each has its own pay page.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

Aug 28, 2026licensesTX/electrical,hvac

tier structureverified

Texas electrician (11 individual + 3 business types, collapsed to 4 tiers) and ACR (registered technician / certified technician / contractor) tier structures verified against TDLR pages fetched 2026-08-28. Hours and fees on 8 Texas rows remain research-seeded until the TDLR subpages are re-verified.

Permalink #2026-08-28-licenses-tx-tdlrBackfilled at launch