TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Tennessee

Tennessee licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start. The state credential is the contractor — CE (Electrical) classification, projects ≥$25,000 (experience-based + exam).

3Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified

Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program ↗

Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓

What are the electrical license tiers in Tennessee, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program (tn.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen

Tennessee licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Tennessee publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Tennessee →

  2. Journeyman / master: your city or county

    In Tennessee the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.

    Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.

  3. limited licensed electrician (LLE) — projects <$25,000 in unincorporated/no-local-license areas

    specialty · Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program

    Verified from the boardTennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Pass LLE exam; no formal experience requirement stated on board homepage; local jurisdictions with their own electrical licensing are exempt from LLE
    Exam
    Prov (from 2026-07-01; PSI before)
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated
  4. contractor — CE (Electrical) classification, projects ≥$25,000

    contractor · Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program

    Verified from the boardTennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Trade + Business & Law exams; financial statement or bond; insurance
    Exam
    Prov (from 2026-07-01)
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

contractor — CE (Electrical) classification, projects ≥$25,000

Hours
not stated by the board / experience-based
Exam
Prov (from 2026-07-01)
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Tennessee?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourNashville (8)
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsNashville State Community CollegeTennessee College of Applied Technology
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Tennessee publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Tennessee →

Electrical in Tennessee's metros

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Tennessee?

Tennessee licenses electrical contractors at the state level (Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Limited Licensed Electrician (LLE) program); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Tennessee?

Tennessee's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.

What can I do for pay in Tennessee with no license at all?

Tennessee publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Tennessee?

The statewide median is $61,090 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Nashville — each has its own pay page.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.