How to become an electrician in South Carolina
3Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical) ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the electrical license tiers in South Carolina, and what does each require?
Rows checked against SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical) (llr.sc.gov) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
South Carolina licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Handyman exemption: jobs under $5,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In South Carolina the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗No state journeyman electrician license in SC; some municipalities issue journeyman cards via the Municipal Association (voluntary program). Residential tier verified; commercial tier seeded.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Verified from the boardSC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical) ↗
residential specialty contractor — Electrical (RBE)
contractor · SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical)
- Experience
- 2,000 hrs (≈ 1 yr)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 1 year verifiable experience under licensed individual; PSI exam; renewal $220
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- $135 application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
- Verified from the boardSC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical) ↗
mechanical contractor — Electrical (commercial)
contractor · SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical)
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2 years experience within past 5; technical + business exams; financials
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
residential specialty contractor — Electrical (RBE)
- Hours remaining (of 2,000)
- 2,000 ≈ 1.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees (application / exam)
- $135 / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in South Carolina?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $5,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for South Carolina →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in South Carolina?
South Carolina licenses electrical contractors at the state level (SC LLR — Residential Builders Commission (RBE) and Contractor's Licensing Board (mechanical contractor — electrical)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in South Carolina?
South Carolina's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in South Carolina with no license at all?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $5,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in South Carolina?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in South Carolina are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.