How to become an electrician in Ohio
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the electrical license tiers in Ohio, and what does each require?
Rows checked against OCILB — commercial electrical contractor; residential/journeyman local (com.ohio.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Ohio licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Ohio the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗TX master reciprocity confirmed from TDLR side.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOCILB — commercial electrical contractor; residential/journeyman local ↗
residential journeyman/master (local, many areas none)
journeyman · OCILB — commercial electrical contractor; residential/journeyman local
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Per municipality (ServiceTitan)
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- — · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- TX (journeyman) — direction not stated; NC (journeyman) — direction not stated; SC (journeyman) — direction not stated; KY (journeyman) — direction not stated; WV (journeyman) — direction not stated; LA (journeyman) — direction not stated; TN (journeyman) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedOCILB — commercial electrical contractor; residential/journeyman local ↗
commercial electrical contractor (state)
contractor · OCILB — commercial electrical contractor; residential/journeyman local
- Experience
- 10,000 hrs (≈ 5 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 5 yrs experience; exam; insurance
- Exam
- PSI
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · 10 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- TX (contractor) — direction not stated; NC (contractor) — direction not stated; SC (contractor) — direction not stated; KY (contractor) — direction not stated; WV (contractor) — direction not stated; LA (contractor) — direction not stated; TN (contractor) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
residential journeyman/master (local, many areas none)
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Ohio?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Ohio →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Ohio?
Ohio licenses electrical contractors at the state level (OCILB — commercial electrical contractor; residential/journeyman local); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Ohio?
— of documented experience, then the state exam.
What can I do for pay in Ohio with no license at all?
Ohio publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Ohio?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Ohio are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.