TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Nevada

Nevada licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start. The state credential is the contractor C-2 (Electrical) (8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of experience + exam).

3Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified

Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County) ↗

Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓

What are the electrical license tiers in Nevada, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County) (nvcontractorsboard.com) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen

Nevada licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Nevada →

  2. Journeyman / master: your city or county

    In Nevada the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.

    Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.

  3. journeyman electrician (LOCAL — Clark County Building Dept, Washoe, etc.)

    journeyman · Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County)

    Verified from the boardNevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Not state-issued; requirements per jurisdiction
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    — · CE not stated
    Reciprocity
    AZ (journeyman) — direction not stated; CA (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated
  4. contractor C-2 (Electrical)

    contractor · Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County)

    Verified from the boardNevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County) ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    4 years within 15 as journeyman/supervisor/contractor; CMS + trade exam; bond; financials
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · no CE
    Reciprocity
    AZ (contractor) — direction not stated; CA (contractor) — direction not stated; UT (contractor) — direction not stated

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

journeyman electrician (LOCAL — Clark County Building Dept, Washoe, etc.)

Hours remaining (of 8,000)
8,000 ≈ 4.0 yrs full-time
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County) →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Nevada?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourLas Vegas (6)
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsCollege of Southern Nevada
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Nevada →

Electrical in Nevada's metros

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Nevada?

Nevada licenses electrical contractors at the state level (Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); journeyman cards are county/city (e.g., Clark County)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Nevada?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the state exam.

What can I do for pay in Nevada with no license at all?

Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,000 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Nevada?

The statewide median is $73,570 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Las Vegas — each has its own pay page.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.