TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Missouri

Missouri offers a statewide license for electricians but does not require it — most cities still license locally, and the state card mainly saves you re-testing when you move between them.

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the electrical license tiers in Missouri, and what does each require?

Rows checked against Missouri Division of Professional Registration — Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OPTIONAL statewide license, 2019+); otherwise local (pr.mo.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

Optional statewide license

Missouri offers a statewide license for electricians but does not require it — most cities still license locally, and the state card mainly saves you re-testing when you move between them.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    Missouri publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Missouri →

  2. Journeyman / master: your city or county

    Most Missouri cities license electricians themselves; the state card is optional and mainly recognised across jurisdictions. Check your city's building department for the local hours and exam.

    Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.

  3. local journeyman/master (KC, St. Louis, etc.)

    journeyman · Missouri Division of Professional Registration — Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OPTIONAL statewide license, 2019+); otherwise local

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMissouri Division of Professional Registration — Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OPTIONAL statewide license, 2019+); otherwise local ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Per jurisdiction
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    — · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. statewide electrical contractor (optional; recognized by locals)

    contractor · Missouri Division of Professional Registration — Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OPTIONAL statewide license, 2019+); otherwise local

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMissouri Division of Professional Registration — Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OPTIONAL statewide license, 2019+); otherwise local ↗
    Experience
    12,000 hrs (≈ 6 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    12,000 hrs (or degree combos) + exam — prior knowledge
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

local journeyman/master (KC, St. Louis, etc.)

Hours
not stated by the board / experience-based
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
Missouri Division of Professional Registration — Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors (OPTIONAL statewide license, 2019+); otherwise local →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Missouri?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

Missouri publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Missouri →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Missouri?

Missouri's statewide electrical license is optional — most cities license locally and the state card is recognised across them. You start as a helper or apprentice under a licensed contractor.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Missouri?

— of documented experience, then the state exam.

What can I do for pay in Missouri with no license at all?

Missouri publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Missouri?

Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Missouri are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.