How to become an electrician in Maine
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the electrical license tiers in Maine, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Maine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board (maine.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State-licensed
Maine licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Maine publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board ↗
apprentice (license)
apprentice · Maine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Register
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- NH (apprentice) — direction not stated; VT (apprentice) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board ↗
journeyman
journeyman · Maine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- 576
- Prerequisites
- 8,000 hrs + 576 classroom (or degree combos); exam
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 15 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- NH (journeyman) — direction not stated; VT (journeyman) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedMaine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board ↗
master
master · Maine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board
- Experience
- 4,000 hrs (≈ 2 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 4,000 hrs as journeyman; exam
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 15 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- NH (master) — direction not stated; VT (master) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice (license)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Maine?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Maine publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Maine →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Maine?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (license) (Maine OPOR — Electricians' Examining Board). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Maine?
8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 576 classroom hours, then the Prov exam.
What can I do for pay in Maine with no license at all?
Maine publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Maine?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Maine are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.