TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in Louisiana

Louisiana licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start. The state credential is the electrical contractor (commercial >$10,000) / residential electrical specialty (experience-based + exam).

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the electrical license tiers in Louisiana, and what does each require?

Rows checked against LSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge) (lslbc.louisiana.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen

Louisiana licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    You need a contractor license for any job above $10,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in Louisiana →

  2. Journeyman / master: your city or county

    In Louisiana the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.

    Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.

  3. local journeyman/master (varies by city)

    journeyman · LSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedLSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge) ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Per municipality
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    — · CE not stated
    Reciprocity
    TX (journeyman) — direction not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. electrical contractor (commercial >$10,000) / residential electrical specialty

    contractor · LSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge)

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedLSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge) ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Exams; financials. ServiceTitan: residential under $50,000 exempt from state contractor license for electrical — verify (likely refers to general residential builder threshold)
    Exam
    LSLBC
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every year · CE not stated
    Reciprocity
    TX (contractor) — direction not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

local journeyman/master (varies by city)

Hours
not stated by the board / experience-based
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
LSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge) →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Louisiana?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

You need a contractor license for any job above $10,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:notes; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Louisiana →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Louisiana?

Louisiana licenses electrical contractors at the state level (LSLBC (electrical contractor >$10,000); journeyman/master cards are municipal (e.g., New Orleans, Baton Rouge)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Louisiana?

— of documented experience, then the state exam.

What can I do for pay in Louisiana with no license at all?

You need a contractor license for any job above $10,000; below that, general repair work is unlicensed. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in Louisiana?

Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Louisiana are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.