How to become an electrician in Hawaii
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked3Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the electrical license tiers in Hawaii, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Hawaii DCCA — Board of Electricians and Plumbers (cca.hawaii.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State-licensed
Hawaii licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,500 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedHawaii DCCA — Board of Electricians and Plumbers ↗
supervising electrician (ES)
specialty · Hawaii DCCA — Board of Electricians and Plumbers
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Journey worker + 4 yrs (ServiceTitan lists multiple classifications)
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedHawaii DCCA — Board of Electricians and Plumbers ↗
journey worker electrician (EJ)
journeyman · Hawaii DCCA — Board of Electricians and Plumbers
- Experience
- 10,000 hrs (≈ 5 yrs)
- Class hours
- 240
- Prerequisites
- 5 yrs (10,000 hrs) + 240 classroom hrs; exam
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · CE not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
journey worker electrician (EJ)
- Hours remaining (of 10,000)
- 10,000 ≈ 5.0 yrs full-time
- Exam
- Prov
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Hawaii?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,500 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. (threshold type inferred by the importer — derived:default; the research pass confirms it) Start-here page for Hawaii →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Hawaii?
Yes — the first state gate is the supervising electrician (ES) (Hawaii DCCA — Board of Electricians and Plumbers). — of experience and an exam.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Hawaii?
10,000 hrs (≈ 5 yrs) of documented experience plus 240 classroom hours, then the Prov exam.
What can I do for pay in Hawaii with no license at all?
Handyman exemption: jobs under $1,500 (labor + materials) need no state license. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Hawaii?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Hawaii are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.