How to become an electrician in Florida
4Verified from the board0Board page checked0Research-seeded, not yet verified
Newest check Aug 28, 2026 · Sources: Florida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB) ↗
Re-checked every 6 h · full re-verify quarterly · Changes ↓
What are the electrical license tiers in Florida, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Florida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB) (www2.myfloridalicense.com) ↗ · newest Aug 28, 2026 · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State licenses contractors · cities license journeymen
Florida licenses electrician contractors at the state level, but the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. The state rungs below are the contractor tiers; the local rung is where you start.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:author-notes); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Florida publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
Journeyman / master: your city or county
In Florida the journeyman and master cards are issued by cities and counties, not the state. Your local building department sets the hours and exam; the state rungs below are the contractor tiers you reach afterwards.
Your city or county (journeyman / master cards) — not yet mapped ↗placeholder — not yet mapped
Research-seeded, not yet verifiedresearch dataset ↗Read in real Chrome 2026-08-28: ECLB board page (License Types / Apply / Renew / CE tabs), ECLB 8 exam application checklist, ECLB 1 initial-licensure checklist, Electrical Examinations page. Quotes: 'Certified Electrical Contractor: 11 hours of Continuing Education ... $296 ... 8/31 Even Year'; 'Registered Electrical Contractor: 11 hours ... $121 ... 8/31 Even Year'; 'State electrical certification examinations ... are given in two parts: technical/safety and business'; vendor 'Pearson VUE'; ECLB 1: 'The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in 3-phase services'; 'Business Financial Statement showing a net worth of at least $10,000'. Corrections vs seed: CE is 11 hrs (not 14) and BOTH registered and certified electrical renew 8/31 of EVEN years (unlike CILB). ECLB licenses contractors only ('Does the Board license electricians?' is a CILB/GA-style question — FL has no state journeyman/master). Reciprocity: board links a 'Reciprocity and Substantially Equivalent Exams' PDF and an 'Endorsement List' PDF (not read). Application fee dollar amounts not on pages read.
Rows marked placeholder are research-seeded: the dataset names the jurisdiction pattern but has not mapped each city's tiers yet.
- Verified from the boardFlorida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB) ↗
registered electrical contractor (ER)
contractor · Florida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Local competency card; jurisdiction-limited. Renewal fee $121; expires 8/31 EVEN year. CE 11 hrs: 1 workers' comp, 1 workplace safety, 1 business practices, 1 FL laws & rules, 6 technical, 1 FL Building Code advanced module.
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 11 CE hrs
- Verified from the boardFlorida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB) ↗
certified electrical contractor (EC)
contractor · Florida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Age 18+; pass both parts of the state exam (scores ≤3 years old at application); required experience 'must include at least 40% of work that is in 3-phase services' and must meet one of the experience routes in the application instructions; personal credit report; business credit report + financial statement showing net worth ≥$10,000. Renewal fee $296; expires 8/31 EVEN year; CE 11 hrs (same breakdown) + 2 hrs false-alarm prevention if performing alarm work.
- Exam
- Pearson VUE (computer-based, two parts: technical/safety + business)
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 11 CE hrs
- Verified from the boardFlorida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB) ↗
certified specialty electrical contractor / alarm system contractor I & II
contractor · Florida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB)
- Experience
- —
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Specialty and alarm categories: 7 CE hours; certified renewal $296, registered $121; 8/31 even year.
- Exam
- Pearson VUE
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every 2 years · 7 CE hrs
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
registered electrical contractor (ER)
- Hours
- not stated by the board / experience-based
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Florida?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Tampa (9)Orlando (9)Jacksonville (7)Miami (9) |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | Erwin Technical CollegeFlorida State College at JacksonvilleHillsborough Community CollegeLindsey Hopkins Technical CollegeMiami Dade CollegeOrange Technical CollegePinellas Technical CollegeSheridan Technical CollegeValencia College |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Florida publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Florida →
Electrical in Florida's metros
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Florida?
Florida licenses electrical contractors at the state level (Florida DBPR — Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board (ECLB)); the journeyman and master cards come from your city or county. You start as a helper or registered apprentice under a licensed contractor the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Florida?
Florida's journeyman card is issued by your city or county, so the hours depend on where you work — a registered apprenticeship (4–5 years, 8,000 hours) satisfies almost every jurisdiction.
What can I do for pay in Florida with no license at all?
Florida publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Florida?
The statewide median is $57,250 per year (BLS OEWS May 2025); metros in the state run from Tampa, Orlando, Jacksonville, Miami — each has its own pay page.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.