TradeOnRamp
TradeOnRamp

The way into HVAC, electrical and plumbing.

How to become an electrician in District of Columbia

Start as apprentice (registration) the week you are hired (registration only, no exam); journeyman after 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) and the PSI exam;

Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.

Newest verification: none

0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified

What are the electrical license tiers in District of Columbia, and what does each require?

Rows checked against DC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades (dlcp.dc.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work

Who licenses electrical here

State-licensed

District of Columbia licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.

Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.

  1. No experience

    District of Columbia publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

    What you can do for pay this week in District of Columbia →

  2. apprentice (registration)

    apprentice · DC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades ↗
    Experience
    — (registration only)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Register
    Exam
    not stated on the pages read
    Fees
    — application · — exam · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  3. journeyman electrician

    journeyman · DC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades ↗
    Experience
    8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    4 yrs experience; exam
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

  4. master electrician

    master · DC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades

    Research-seeded, not yet verifiedDC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades ↗
    Experience
    —
    Class hours
    —
    Prerequisites
    Journeyman + years; exam
    Exam
    PSI
    Fees
    — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
    Renewal
    every 2 years · CE not stated

    Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.

Where are you now? Find your next gate

Your next gate

apprentice (registration)

Hours remaining (of 0)
0 — eligible to apply
Exam
not stated
Fees (application / exam)
— / —
DC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades →

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in District of Columbia?

RouteCost to youTimeCounts toward the license?Where
Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop)Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1)4–5 yearsYes — every hourSponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs
Community / technical college certificateTuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route)12–24 monthsClassroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doorsSee the sponsor pages
For-profit trade schoolTuition (often the most expensive)6–15 monthsSame as community college — check the boardNot listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us

No credentials yet?

District of Columbia publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for District of Columbia →

Questions people actually ask

Do I need a license to work as an electrician in District of Columbia?

Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (DC DLCP — Board of Industrial Trades). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in District of Columbia?

8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience, then the PSI exam.

What can I do for pay in District of Columbia with no license at all?

District of Columbia publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.

What does an electrician make in District of Columbia?

Statewide BLS figures for electricians in District of Columbia are pending; see the metro pay pages.

Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?

A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.

What changed in this data?

No changes recorded yet for this page.