How to become an electrician in Arkansas
Stale. None of the license rows on this page has been verified against its source yet. Confirm with the board before you spend money.
Newest verification: none
0Verified from the board0Board page checked4Research-seeded, not yet verified
What are the electrical license tiers in Arkansas, and what does each require?
Rows checked against Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners (labor.arkansas.gov) ↗ · newest — · full re-verify quarterly · heartbeat every 6 h · how labels work
Who licenses electrical here
State-licensed
Arkansas licenses electricians at the state level — the ladder below is the state board's.
Scope derived by the importer from the dataset author's notes (derived:is_state_licensed); the board pass confirms it.
No experience
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners ↗
apprentice (registration)
apprentice · Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners
- Experience
- — (registration only)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- Register
- Exam
- not stated on the pages read
- Fees
- — application · — exam · — license
- Renewal
- every year · CE not stated
- Reciprocity
- TX (apprentice) — direction not stated; CO (apprentice) — direction not stated; UT (apprentice) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners ↗
journeyman
journeyman · Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners
- Experience
- 8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs)
- Class hours
- 800
- Prerequisites
- 4 yrs + classroom, or 8 yrs experience
- Exam
- state
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · 8 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- TX (journeyman) — direction not stated; CO (journeyman) — direction not stated; UT (journeyman) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
- Research-seeded, not yet verifiedArkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners ↗
master
master · Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners
- Experience
- 12,000 hrs (≈ 6 yrs)
- Class hours
- —
- Prerequisites
- 2 yrs as journeyman (ServiceTitan: 8 yrs/16,000 hrs alt route)
- Exam
- state
- Fees
- — application · — exam (in the vendor bulletin) · — license
- Renewal
- every year · 8 CE hrs
- Reciprocity
- TX (master) — direction not stated; CO (master) — direction not stated; UT (master) — direction not stated
Not yet checked against the source page. Read this row as a lead, not an answer.
Where are you now? Find your next gate
Your next gate
apprentice (registration)
- Hours remaining (of 0)
- 0 — eligible to apply
- Exam
- not stated
- Fees (application / exam)
- — / —
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college — which is cheapest in Arkansas?
| Route | Cost to you | Time | Counts toward the license? | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered apprenticeship (union JATC or IEC/ABC open-shop) | Paid from day one (~45% of journeyman scale in period 1) | 4–5 years | Yes — every hour | Sponsor pages for this state are not built yet — apprenticeship.gov lists the registered programs |
| Community / technical college certificate | Tuition (public, usually the cheapest classroom route) | 12–24 months | Classroom hours in some states; the credential opens helper/apprentice doors | See the sponsor pages |
| For-profit trade school | Tuition (often the most expensive) | 6–15 months | Same as community college — check the board | Not listed here until IPEDS completions are joined; no school is ranked by what it pays us |
No credentials yet?
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size. Start-here page for Arkansas →
Questions people actually ask
Do I need a license to work as an electrician in Arkansas?
Yes — the first state gate is the apprentice (registration) (Arkansas Dept. of Labor & Licensing — Board of Electrical Examiners). It is a registration with no hours or exam; you can start the week you are hired.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Arkansas?
8,000 hrs (≈ 4 yrs) of documented experience plus 800 classroom hours, then the state exam.
What can I do for pay in Arkansas with no license at all?
Arkansas publishes no statewide dollar threshold for unlicensed work in the pages we read; the contractor statute and your city decide. Electrical and plumbing work are excluded — they are licensed at any job size.
What does an electrician make in Arkansas?
Statewide BLS figures for electricians in Arkansas are pending; see the metro pay pages.
Apprenticeship, trade school, or community college?
A registered apprenticeship pays you from day one (about 45% of journeyman scale in period 1) and counts every hour toward the license; trade school costs tuition and counts only classroom hours in most states; a community-college certificate (6–24 months) is the cheapest classroom route and often feeds a sponsor. The sponsor pages list every option we can find for your metro.
What changed in this data?
No changes recorded yet for this page.